Poem: Was It Me Or You?

Was it me or you?
The one who changed
After all these years
Memories and times shared together
Building hopes and dreams
But then they were shattered to pieces
Just cuz we’re not the same people anymore

What happened to all the promises and sweet talks?
Our small casual talks about life
About how it’s you and me against the world
But now it seems like those things never existed in the first place
There’s just me,
and you,
Two people sitting across a huge empty room, yet it feels like we’re in two totally different places

Was it me or you?
After all these times,
It feels like we’re back to square one
Just two souls who somewhat got brought together in one random occasion
I don’t know whether it’s fate or stupid cupid playing his dirty little trick, as always.
Or maybe it’s just you.
There was something quite indescribable about you.
I believe it was your stupid smile
Or maybe it was me who was smiling from ear to ear as I first landed my eyes on you

I don’t really understand how this happened
We’re playing the dance again
Where have all the years gone by?
I feel so lonely and dejected
I feel empty
I feel nothing
Numbness is the only feeling I know
But the irony is, numb is not a feeling
Cuz how are you suppose to feel numb?
But somehow it’s possible when it comes to you
You and me
But now I think it’s just me
Which makes me question, who are you?

Was it me or you?
If it was you just tell me so I probably can rest in peace
Was it me?
Or was it you?
Or worse.
Neither.

Leave a comment