Romance Novel Rant: Shattered Glass by Dani Alexander

Shattered Glass (Shattered Glass, #1) by Dani Alexander

Blurb:

A male prostitute, a mangy cat, a murder and a maniacal mix-up that threatens his career, his impending marriage and his life. Nothing is going as planned for Austin Glass.

Austin—seems to have it all. At least on the surface. A loving fiancee. A future with the FBI and a healthy sized trust fund. He also has a grin and a wisecrack for every situation. But the smile he presents to everyone hides a painful past he’s buried too deeply to remember. And his quips mask bitterness and insecurity. Austin has himself and most of the whole world fooled. Until he meets someone who immediately sees him better than he sees himself.

As events unfold and Austin’s world unravels, he finds himself pushed into making quick life-changing decisions. But can he trust Peter or what’s happening between them when each meeting seems to be just a series of volatile reactions?

Goodreads Rating (as of June 19, 2021): 4.07/5.00 (9,026 ratings)
My Overall Rating: 2/5
Writing Rating: 5/5

*****

DNF at 83% (Major rant with possible spoilers)

What a waste of my time. I’ve had this book on my to-read list for several years honestly but every time I picked it up for some reason I always put it back down. Now I know why! Bitch.

My dislike for this book aside, I love the writing. The author is brilliant with words and the banter and jokes are on point. So I’m sure their other books are much better? You can’t write that well and have bad books. Maybe I just have bad taste that’s why I don’t like this book. I don’t know. I’m sorry? 🥺

Anyhoo — Hate the book. I hate it. Can’t stand it no more. Austin is a stupid, lame-brained asshole who’s got his head so far up his ass it’s tragic really.

Fall in love with a whore you’ve known for 1 week? Oh did I mention he was “straight” and has had 4 failed engagements because he cheated on all his exes. And the last one he literally jilted 1 week after meeting the whore, 8 weeks away from his marriage. No fucking, no dates, no getting to know each other. Just like that, broke off the engagement. Like, who is this idiot?

The whore is called Peter. A pathological liar. Oh mind you apparently he’s gay-for-pay and if he has to choose he would go for pussy instead of dick. He’s also an idiot and very passive-aggressive. Oh oh oh, he’s not smart and like dropped out from high school. BUT! He speaks 7 languages LMAO. La la land?

It just doesn’t make any sense to me. Not only that, the storyline gets weirder and more unnatural the more you read. Even writing this is just so mentally-draining really. So I’m gonna end this rant right here bitch. Don’t read the book. Sorry not sorry.

Love,

Scandal

Leave a comment